Why Can’t we Relax at Home?

It is, supposedly, where we feel most comfortable.

Michelle Lee-Ann
3 min readJul 20, 2020
Photo by Tom King on Unsplash

Doing nothing is deemed wasteful. A night spent snuggled up on the couch, munching on popcorn and watching TV is thought of as wasted time.

But, if you were to to away for the weekend, for a quiet getaway, time spent simply doing nothing but reading or watching the sunset or watching birds, it would be deemed restful and rejuvenating.

While you can get more benefits out of watching birds, the sunset, and reading than you can out of mindlessly watching TV, it’s the idea of doing nothing that gets to people.

When the rain came and washed away our plans to head up to the cabin, we stayed at home. Assuming I’d get tons of work done both inside the house and out, I was shocked to realize that I did only the bare minimum all Saturday. Instead, I did what I would normally do at the cabin. I got up and made coffee, sat outside and enjoyed the peaceful morning. I read. I *gasp* scrolled through instagram a time or two. I enjoyed some deliciously mindless time on Netflix. I read some more. When the clock neared close to supper time I was aghast to realize that I only did 3 chores this morning. I didn’t spend my day stressing out and running around trying to get things done (a journey that is already made more stressful due to covid). I did what my…

--

--

Michelle Lee-Ann

Recently published kid's book author, lover of all things Karl Lagerfeld, Golden Girls enthusiast, and finds happiness in books from Hemingway to Harlequin.