Michelle Lee-Ann
4 min readFeb 22, 2021

--

Social Media has Become Exhausting and So Not Worth the Effort

Photo by Maddi Bazzocco on Unsplash

Recently, I’ve taken a step back from social media. It’s just not giving me what I want, anymore. It’s causing me more stress than it’s worth, so I’m taking a break. Don’t worry, I’m still creeping on everyone’s photos, scrolling through my feed to often for my own comfort, but I’ve stopped posting. I’ve stopped posting to my personal account, and I’ve stopped posting to my blog account, most likely a death sentence to my blog, but I couldn’t give a tiny rat’s ass, anymore.

I’m yearning for closer connections, conversations, motivation. I’ve only been using Pinterest and Instagram for my social media the last couple of years, with a dip back into Facebook just to see if it’s as shitty as it was when I decided to delete the app. Don’t worry, it never disappoints, always making me feel good for deleting the app from my phone, and makes me wonder why I just don’t delete my account.

While Pinterest is still, often, giving me the motivation and excitement I crave, and the creative ideas I want when I’m looking at updating the house or need to craft, Instagram has been falling flat.

It’s the same old, same old running around on there. People trying to one up other people, taking the most perfect shots, lit with lighting you would normally have only gotten in a studio or with a professional photographer. Guess what? It’s exhausting.

--

--

Michelle Lee-Ann

Recently published kid's book author, lover of all things Karl Lagerfeld, Golden Girls enthusiast, and finds happiness in books from Hemingway to Harlequin.